MEETING DETAILS


Date: January 26, 2007
Time: 9:00 - 5:00
Location: 49 Chambers Street - 6th floor. Hearing Room 7
Meeting Organizer: Lisa Nielsen


ATTENDEES


Office of the Mayor
Karen Friedman Agnifilo (General Counsel - Office of the Mayor, Criminal Justice Coordinator) email: kagnifilo@cityhall.nyc.gov * (212)788-6813 wk * (347)267-3851 cell
Melissa Ballard, (Legislative Counsel, Criminal Justice Coordinator's Office), email: mballard@cityhall.nyc.gov *(212) 788-6835

NYC DOE
Lisa Nielsen (PD Manager-OIT, NYC DOE) lnielsen@schools.nyc.gov, ph: 9176557628, Skype: lnielsenvb
Susan Levine (Consultant-Office of Instructional Technology, NYC DOE) slevine6@schools.nyc.gov, (212) 374-6982
Barbara Stripling (Director-School Library Services, NYC DOE) bstripling@schools.nyc.gov, (212) 374-2524
Natasha Howard (Special Assistant-Office of Parent Engagement) nhoward2@schools.nyc.gov, (212) 374-7923
Lois Herrera (Director of School Programs and Development- Office of School Intervention and Development) LHerrer@schools.nyc.gov, (212) 374-6777

i-Safe
In Person
Denny Shaw (Chief Operating Officer) dshaw@isafe.org 760.603.7911 ext 15 wk, 760.672.2331 cell
Jonathan King (Director of Professional Development and Outreach) jking@isafe.org 760.603.7911 ext 14 wk, 760.672.2341 cell
Via Skype
Teri Schroeder (President) tschroeder@isafe.org 760.603.7911 ext 12 wk, 760.672.2330 cell, Skype:
Carolyn Walpole (Director of Education & Curriculum Development) cwalpole@isafe.org 760.603.7911 ext 26 wk, 760.672.2336 cell, Skype:
Julie A. Minardi (Professional Development Manager) jminardi@isafe.org * 760.603.7911 ext 21 wk, 760.672.5302 cell, Skype:

MEETING PURPOSE

Review i-Safe site and curriculum to determine how/if it can support the goals of the Office of the Mayor of NYC and the NYC DOEs to provide cyber safety that is appropriate for NYC students, parents, and teachers.

AGENDA


Time
Topic

9:00
Arrival - Coffee/Pastries, Set Up

9:30
Greetings/Introductions

10:00
Overview and review of i-Safe Components/Programs (i.e., i-EDUCATOR, i-PARENT, i-BUDDY, i-LEARN, i-PARENT, Assembly, Cyber Safety Week, Cyber Safety Certification, etc.)

11:00
Review of i-Safe Curriculum: K-12

11:45
Review of the webcasts

12:30
Lunch (Bits & Bites is Michelle - 212-374-1111)

1:00
Review of i-Safe's NYC Portal

2:00
Creation of an NYC webcast - Elementary/Secondary/Parent (How? How long? Where does it fit? What's in it? How is it funded?)

2:30
Discussion - What recommended options should be available for schools to use with students? (Assembly, certification, curriculum?)

3:00
Discussion - What recommended options should be available for schools to share with parents?

3:30
Discussion - What recommended options should be available for teachers to receive/provide? (Assembly, certification, curriculum?)

4:00
Dissemination/distribution - Principal's weekly? Cyber safety campaign? Cyber safety liaison (librarian and/or technology teacher)? Parent Coordinator

4:30
Questions, Comments, Concerns, Next Steps

5:00
Adjourn

RELEVANT LINKS

i-Safe Website: www.isafe.org
NYCDOE / Welcome

RELEVANT DOCUMENTS

Note Taking Document

Cyber Safety Education Plan


NYC Cyber Safety Activities


i-Safe Alignment to NY Internet Safety Legislation and Educational Standards


i-Safe Alignment to NETS Standards


Cybersafety Meeting Notes - Dec 15


Meeting Attendees


NEXT MEETING

Date:
Time:
Location: